Michigan Teen Drivers May Be Banned From Using A Cell Phone
Michigan may enact 'Kelsey's Law', which might help keep teens safe on the road
A bill has been proposed in Michigan to make it illegal for drivers under 18 to use a mobile device while driving. The bill was passed Michigan House in December and now rests with the state Senate as calls increase for tighter laws against distracted driving.
It is a 'Kelsey's Law' is named after 17-year-old Kelsey Raffaele of Sault Ste. Marie, who died in 2010 in a distracted driving accident.
The bill 'Kelsey's would prohibit motorists under 18 from using a phone while operating a vehicle, except in emergencies. Adults, however, would be exempt from the ban that already applies to drivers with a learner's or intermediate permit — typically 15- and 16-year-olds.
The Detroit Free Press had reported that Michigan had about 19,000 crashes involving distracted driving in 2018, which resulted in 77 fatalities. The year before, there were roughly 20,000 such crashes and 72 fatalities. Those numbers are scary, becuase the people we love could be involved in those accidents.
Adults, however, would be exempt from the ban that already applies to drivers with a learner's or intermediate permit. Which then leads to the question, should all us be using hand free devices for our safety and the safety of others?
Only time will tell with what restrictions we will all have to deal with.