Sixteen members of the Western Michigan University Broncos hockey team are on the National Collegiate Hockey Conference All-Academic team, announced Tuesday. With sixteen players on the list, it places WMU second in the NCHC, only behind Nebraska-Omaha, with 19.

WMU's 16 Academic All-Conference selections were tied for second-most in the NCHC, trailing only Omaha's 19. Wade Allison (3.12), Kale Bennett (3.98), Ben Blacker (3.21), Austin Cain (3.72), Colt Conrad (3.27), Dawson DiPietro (3.36), Trevor Gorsuch (3.69), Will Massey (3.37), Hugh McGing (3.35), Jade McMullen (3.48), Cam Orchard (3.00), Josh Passolt (3.51), Lukas Samuelsson (3.24), Corey Schueneman (3.52), Brett Van Os (3.94), and Paul Washe (3.78) earned the honors. Bennett, Cain, Gorsuch, Passolt, Schueneman, Van Os and Washe were also named NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes. Every Bronco on the list has earned the honors at least twice in their careers, with Gorsuch, McMullen and Schueneman now earning it all four seasons. -

The NCHC says to qualify for the all-academic list, players have to carry a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average and be a student for at least one year. "Student-athletes that have accrued a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or better are honored as NCHC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes, in addition to Academic All-Conference, says the conference in a release.



More From WKFR