Is it Legal to Use Fireworks on Halloween in Michigan?
Over the last week or so, I've noticed a few of the permanent fireworks stores have been open for business. There also have been cars in the parking lot. Are people really buying fireworks for Halloween? And is it even legal to use fireworks around Halloween?
The Fireworks Law in Michigan
The Michigan Fireworks Safety Act of 2011 (Public Act 256) was amended in December 2018. This amendment gave local governments -- cities, townships, and villages -- the ability to restrict the days and times that residents in their communities could us consumer fireworks if the government desires to enact a local ordinance.
There are certain days where the state of Michigan says fireworks must be allowed. Those days are:
- From December 31st until 1 am on January 1st
- The Saturday and Sunday before Memorial Day until 11:45 pm daily
- The period of June 29th through July4th until 11:45 pm daily
- July 5, if it falls on a Friday or Saturday, until 11:45 pm
- The Saturday and Sunday before Labor Day, until 11:45 pm daily
If you haven't noticed, there is NO provision for Halloween, October 31st, or any of the days leading up to, or after, the holiday.
Few Other Things About the Michigan Fireworks Law
If you are caught using fireworks at times other than those listed above, the Michigan Fireworks Safety Act does allow for a fine of $1,000 for each violation.
On the dates allowed, the fireworks you use must meet Consumer Product Safety Commission standards. (You can see a list here, provided by the Michigan Licensing and Regulatory Affairs -- LARA -- explaining just what fireworks are legal in the state of Michigan.) Fireworks are only to be sold to those over the age of 18. Fireworks must be used on private property. It is illegal to ignite fireworks on public property, including the streets and sidewalks in front of your home. It is also illegal to use fireworks when intoxicated or under the influence of drugs.
So even though you might like to scare someone with a big bang, or delight trick or treaters in your neighborhood with a fireworks display -- it is probably illegal to do so and you could end up with a $1,000 fine.
Maybe the people at the fireworks stores are just buying fireworks in advance for the next time it is legal to use them in the state of Michigan -- from December 31st until 1 am on January 1st to ring in the new year.