Each year in the fall, Michigan state parks close out the busy summer camping season with a family favorite: harvest festivals. These events, offered this year at many locations statewide, are a great way to welcome autumn and feature activities such as pumpkin carving, costume contests, trick-or-treating and more. Each park puts its own personal spin on the celebration, so no two events are exactly the same.

Photo: Michigan Dept. of Natural Resources. Used by permission.

Below is a list of upcoming harvest festival dates and locations. Asterisks (*) denote events for those with camping reservations.

Thursday, Oct. 1 – Sunday, Oct. 4

• *Bay City State Recreation Area (Bay County)

Friday, Oct. 2 – Saturday, Oct. 3

• *Keith J. Charters Traverse City State Park (Grand Traverse County)
• *South Higgins Lake State Park (Roscommon County)
• Waterloo Recreation Area (Jackson County)

Friday, Oct. 2 – Sunday, Oct. 4

• *Metamora-Hadley Recreation Area (Lapeer County)
• *Seven Lakes State Park (Oakland County)
• *Brighton Recreation Area (Livingston County)
• *Sleeper State Park (Huron County)

Saturday, Oct. 3

• Aloha State Park (Cheboygan County)
• *Wilson State Park (Clare County)
• *Hartwick Pines State Park (Crawford County)
• Bay City State Recreation Area (Bay County)

Thursday, Oct. 8 – Sunday, Oct. 11

• *Bay City State Recreation Area (Bay County)

Friday, Oct. 9 – Saturday, Oct. 10

• Waterloo Recreation Area (Jackson County)
• *Harrisville State Park (Alcona County)

Friday, Oct. 9 – Sunday, Oct. 11

• *Algonac State Park (St. Clair County)
• *Brighton Recreation Area (Livingston County)
• Metamora-Hadley Recreation Area (Lapeer County)
• *Muskegon State Park (Muskegon County)
• *Sleeper State Park (Huron County)
• Young State Park (Charlevoix County)

Saturday, Oct. 10

• Bay City State Recreation Area (Bay County)

Friday, Oct. 16 – Saturday, Oct. 17

• Tawas Point State Park (Iosco County)

Friday, Oct. 16 – Sunday, Oct. 18

• Metamora-Hadley Recreation Area (Lapeer County)
• *Algonac State Park (St. Clair County)
• *Port Crescent State Park (Huron County)
• *Brighton Recreation Area (Livingston County)

Saturday, Oct. 17

• Bay City State Recreation Area (Bay County)

Saturday, Oct. 24

• Cheboygan State Park (Cheboygan County)
• *Hayes State Park (Lenawee County)
• Bald Mountain Recreation Area (Oakland County)